Pottery Cooking


 

 

 

I have recently discovered a passion for the old and traditional ways our ancestors used to cook.I stumbled upon one of my grandmother’s old pottery ware the other day and fell irrevocably and utterly in love. It is just an old piece of pottery that has seen more wear and tear than any of my fancy Pyrexes and Cast iron skillets. I asked my mum about what it was like to cook with pottery and the story that followed amazed me.

Apparently pottery ware were not only used for cooking but had far many more uses. My grandmother’s mum and her mum before that used to make milk into yoghurt  in pottery pots. They used to also store the yoghurt in that same pot outside because pottery kept it chilled without the need for any refrigeration!

On and on the stories went until  I decided to try the pots myself. I used a spanish pot because it had a lid and made some heart warming chicken broth. The recipe is an old one but it turned out differently this time. The flavours were noticeably more pronounced and the water did not reduce the same way it would in a normal pot. I may be biased here but I fell in love with it.

For anyone that feels curious or is interested in trying out pottery cookware I’d say go ahead and do it. You will be awed.

Leave a Reply

